Totoros and Mushrooms

The last two days I was not in the mood to do anything creative at all. I was tired, I didn’t understand my chemistry homework, I was in a blah mood….BUT I forced myself to draw, and both times I felt better afterward. Go figure. I don’t think I ever realized just how relaxing drawing is, even if it’s just a five min sketch. This definitely needs to be apart of my daily life.

 

One of my all time favorite movies from when I was a child is “My Neighbor Totoro” written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki. I didn’t know what anime was, but I did know I loved the type of drawing, the story, the imagination, and the music. To this day this movie relaxes me and makes me smile. I have been an avid Miyazaki fan since then and enjoy all the movies I’ve seen that he has created. I even got to go to the Studio Ghibli Museum. Definitely a highlight in my life. Silly as it may be.

 

 

I got a bunch of how to draw/paint flowers, trees, and plants from the library the other day but I hadn’t actually done anything with them until Monday. I really like how these came out. Mushrooms are the least intimidating plants to learn to draw. I’ve always enjoyed them for their simplicity. So it’s no surprise that I picked this drawing to practice first.

 

I have managed to keep up with TAD, even if I’m not posting everyday. I’m very proud. I don’t know why some days it seems like such a chore. I hope to get to the point where drawing daily is natural for me, like eating and sleeping. I wonder how long it will take to get to that point. Something that I do everyday without thinking about it or forcing myself to do it.